Tags

, , ,

If you are looking for more information on using cloth diapers look no further.  In this post I will show you how to use a basic trifold cloth diaper.  It can be complicated to start with but after a couple tries you will have it down pat.

My husband always uses the term ‘install’ when referring to changing a diaper, I can’t help but laugh to myself every time I hear his terminology

Here is your typical trifold diaper.  Now lets get started.

Lay it out flat on your changing table and fold the outside into the center on both sides.  You now have a long rectangle.  If this is too long fold the front down to shorten the rectangle.  I do this in the ‘front’ of my diapers making it act like a doubler for more absorbency.

Place the diaper shaped in a rectangle under the baby.  Then spread the top corners out slightly so the front and back of the diaper meet across the sides.

Place one side of a Snappi on the back side corner of the diaper.  Stretch that corner so that it overlaps the front of the diaper.

Repeat this on the other side.

Stretch the Snappi downward and allow it to grip the diaper.  This helps to hold the diaper on snugly.

I strongly recommend these trifold diapers because they are a cheap and easy option.  I would recommend 2 dozen trifolds and 5 good covers.   Instead of pins I recommend Snappis.  They are a great alternative and you only need a few (2-3).

You are looking at a very basic startup cost of approximately $150 using these products.  2 pkgs of 12 prefolds,  2 Snappis and 3 good quality covers.  $25 +$25 + $7 + $15 + $15 + $15 = $122.

Here is a link to these at walmart.com (I don’t have this exact diaper), if you are looking for thicker, larger or organic options try Jillians Drawers, Snappis are sold here also at $3.49 each.  There are too many covers to name, play with a few different ones at the store and pick what you are most comfortable with.  Try a trial option from a local cloth diaper store.

 

More about cloth diapers…
